Day: June 20, 2012

Let the Fun Begin!

Posted on Updated on

After a sleepless night, Tab and I headed to Cleveland at 3 a.m.  It’s amazing how dark and silent the world is at 3 a.m.  After a few scary deer sightings, we made the trip to the airport with time to spare.  Tab promptly dropped me off and kissed me goodbye.  I wish he was coming with me!

Checking in was a little more difficult than normal due to changing airlines in the middle of the trip.  After consulting a couple different check in workers they were able to successfully label my luggage for Anchorage.  The first flight was from Cleveland to Chicago.  It was on time and things went smoothly.  Switching from United to Alaska Air meant I needed to walk from one end of the airport to the other.  After 45 minutes of walking, I finally reached my terminal.

My second flight was from Chicago to Seattle.  I was fortunate enough to be seated next to a woman who teaches AP Math at the High School level.  We spent four hours discussing senior projects, state testing and various topics.  I ended up with some very useful information and ideas.  Time really passed quickly and in no time we were landing in Seattle, Washington.

Flying into Seattle the mountains were absolutely beautiful.  I was able to grab a quick bite to eat before heading to the next terminal.  My last flight lasted 3 and a half hours.  Landing in Anchorage at 2:40 p.m…..was crazy.  The day was just beginning in Alaska.  I was able to locate my checked baggage quickly and head out to wait for the hotel shuttle.  When I walked out, the shuttle pulled up.  My timing was just too good to be true.

As of right now, I am checked into my new home for the next 4 days.  My first goal is to meet up with the Zientek family before they return to Texas.  For now I am trying to stay awake!  I haven’t slept in over 36 hours and I need to stay awake a little longer so I don’t end up waking up at 2 a.m.  Let the Fun Begin!  I made it!