Day: June 17, 2012

To Take or Not to Take

Posted on Updated on

The madness is in full swing!  I have less than three days to go!  Now comes the hard part, narrowing down what to take with me.  It’s amazing all the things you think that you might need to take with you.  I have a list of things that are “must haves” and a list of items that may come along if I have weight left over.  Weight is what it is all about!

During the first part of my trip I can take two suitcases as well as all my carry on items.  However, it’s the second part of the trip that weight is a major concern.  When I fly to Port Alsworth I will be flying by bush plane.  The first 50 pounds of luggage are part of your ticket.  Then each additional pound cost extra.  Usually the cost to transport items by bush plane are over a dollar a pound.  That means I have to pay extra to fly the items to Port Alsworth and pay again to fly the items back to Anchorage.  So the question is….Do I really need it?

There are some things that are not optional in my mind.  Some of those items include my camera, lenses and my computer.  However, the amount of clothes I am looking at taking keeps changing.  I have less than three more days to go so I must decide what to take or not to take soon!

Image

The landing strip in Port Alsworth!  I will be landing here the second part of my trip!